TEL AVIV NOTES – Insider Travel blog for Tel Aviv
Naomi’s Insights

I fall for you Venice Beach

abbot-kinney-venice-beach-travel-telavivnotes

Los Angeles is huge. Everything. And when I say huge, I mean gigantic. Just around the corner from our Airbnb, there’s a “Ralph’s” supermarket. I wanted to get some soy milk for my coffee but couldn’t find anything smaller than three liters. The city has got me. I love the vastness, the scale, the desert climate. Only as a pedestrian do I feel lost. Yesterday, I went for a quick walk to explore our neighborhood before I eventually gave up in front of a six-lane freeway. No one stops at the crosswalks, cars flash by as if you were invisible. Luckily for me, a daring skater showed up and jumped right onto the crosswalk, stopping the cars and guiding me safely to the other side.   

Abbot Kinney, my favorite

venice-beach-matcha-café-telavivnotes-travel-blog

Abbot Kinney is my street. Each shop is better than the one before here. Laid-back flair, hipsters, hippies, graffiti, second-hand shops, young designers, vegan food temples all over the place. Hungry, we opt for The Butchers Daughter and I’m spellbound. Its interior is one of the nicest I’ve ever seen. A large bar, a patio, a restaurant and lots of succulent plants hanging from the ceiling, which make the place really special.

butcher's-daughter-venice-beach

Best avocado toast at The Butcher’s Daughter

We have a divine avocado toast for brunch at the bar. When it comes to courtesy and service, it seems to me that Israel and Europe can definitely learn a thing or two from here. It feels so good to be pampered by friendly waiters. For Lou, who can’t eat gluten, LA’s a paradise. Here too, Tel Aviv can learn something.

Reinvigorated, we stroll through the boutiques, treat ourselves to a cold-pressed juice, sit down on a window sill and watch the casually styled people. In the evening, we finally go to the beach. It’s also enormous, I can only guess at where the water starts behind the sand. Venice boardwalk is colorful, the shops are somewhat trashy, homeless people sleep in tents along the roadside. There are many homeless people in LA, which I already noticed on the very first day. Under bus stop benches, in front of supermarkets, in parks and at the beach.

Street artists, homeless people, joggers and skaters


venice-beach-los-angeles-telavivnotes-travel-blog

Gillespie doesn’t have a roof over his head either. The sign he’s carrying and his smile immediately appealed to me. We talk briefly. He’s an artist and his paintings are meant to keep the memory of his 10-year-old cousin Michael alive, who was fatally hit by a bullet when he and his friends were playing with a gun. We wander along the beachfront, which vaguely reminds me of Tel Aviv. Yet I prefer the renovated one in Tel Aviv with its wooden benches and steps. The atmosphere is similar: joggers, bicycles, families, street artists, musicians and lots of skaters as opposed to e-bikes. We wait for the sunset and then order a Lyft driver to drive us home, happy.

venice-beach-sunset-travel-blog-telavivnotes

translation: Catherine Bradshaw

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TEL AVIV NOTES  Insider Reiseblog für Tel Aviv
Naomi's Insights

I fall for you Venice Beach

abbot-kinney-venice-beach-travel-telavivnotes

Los Angeles ist riesig. Alles. Und wenn ich sage riesig, dann meine ich überdimensional. Gleich um die Ecke von unserem Airbnb ist der Supermarkt „Ralph’s“. Ich wollte eine Sojamilch für meinen Kaffee, aber das kleinste Format, das ich finden konnte war drei Liter gross. Die Stadt hat mich gepackt. Ich liebe die Weite, das Grossflächige, das Wüstenklima. Bloss als Fussgänger fühle ich mich verloren. Gestern bin ich kurz unser Viertel zu Fuss erkunden, bis ich dann an einer sechsspurigen Schnellstrasse scheiterte. Am Zebrastreifen hält kein Mensch an, die Autos düsen an dir vorbei, als wärst du durchsichtig. Zu meinem Glück gesellte sich ein waghalsiger Skater zu mir, der auf den Zebrastreifen sprang, die Autos anhielt und mich mit sicheren Schritt auf die andere Seite beförderte.

Mein Favorit die Abbot Kinney

venice-beach-matcha-café-telavivnotes-travel-blog

Abbot Kinney ist meine Strasse. Hier ist ein Laden besser als der nächste. Laidback, Hipster, Hippies, Graffitis, Secondhand, junge Designer, vegane Esstempel all over. Hungrig entscheiden wir uns für The Butchers Daughter und ich bin verzaubert. Das Interior ist eines der schönsten, das ich gesehen habe. Eine grosse Bar, ein Patio, Restaurant und viele von der Decke hängende Sukkulenten, die das Lokal so besonders machen.

butcher's-daughter-venice-beach

Bester Avocadotoast im The Butcher’s Daughter

Wir brunchen an der Bar einen göttlichen Avocadotoast. Ich finde, was Freundlichkeit und Service angeht, können sich Israel und Europa hier noch eine dicke Scheibe abschneiden. Wie angenehm ist es, von freundlichen Kellnern verwöhnt zu werden. Für Lou, die kein Gluten essen darf, ist Los Angeles ein Paradies. Auch da kann Tel Aviv noch lernen.

Gestärkt bummeln wir durch die Boutiquen, gönnen uns einen cold pressed juice, setzen uns auf eine Fensterbank und schauen die lässig gestylten Leute an. Abends gehen wir endlich an den Strand. Auch der ist riesengross, ich kann das Wasser nur hinter dem Sand erahnen. Der Venice Boardwalk ist bunt, die Läden ein wenig trashig, Obdachlose schlafen in Zelten am Strassenrand. Es gibt viele homeless in LA, das ist mir gleich am ersten Tag aufgefallen. Unter den Bänken der Bushaltestellen, vor dem Supermarkt, in Parkanlagen und am Strand.

Strassenkünstler, Obdachlose, Jogger und Skater


venice-beach-los-angeles-telavivnotes-travel-blog
Auch Gillespie hat kein Dach über dem Kopf. Sein Schild und Lachen haben mich sofort angezogen. Wir sprechen kurz. Er ist Künstler und will mit seiner Malerei die Erinnerung an seinen 14jährigen Cousin Michael wahren, den eine tödliche Kugel traf, als er mit Freunden an einer Waffe spielte. Wir bummeln die Strandpromenade entlang, die entfernt an Tel Aviv erinnert. Obwohl ich die renovierte von TLV mit den Holzbänken und Treppen schöner finde. Die Atmosphäre ist ähnlich: Jogger, Fahrräder, Familien, Strassenkünstler, Musiker und anstatt E-bikes viele Skater. Wir warten auf den Sonnenuntergang und bestellen uns per Lyft einen Fahrer, der uns glücklich nach Hause fährt.

venice-beach-sunset-travel-blog-telavivnotes

0 Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.