TEL AVIV NOTES  – Insider Travel blog for Tel Aviv
discover TLV Naomi’s Insights

Rosh Hashana without fish head, with pear honey and Swiss apples instead

rosh-hashana-tel-aviv-2017

Already holidays again. Just when I had gotten used to being back to everyday life, the kids have another four days off school and Tel Aviv is dressed in white. It’s Rosh Hashanah aka Jewish New Year. I’m not that into holidays but I like the contemplative mood currently hovering over the city. 

Drown sins in water

rosh-hashana-tel-aviv-2017

I spent the last hour of the old year at the beach with my soulmate friend Gloria, barefoot in shallow seawater. In the bay of Mezizim Beach, which is geographically closest to my home. Until now, I’d always had to give Gloria a ride on my e-bike luggage rack through the city. At the turn of the year however she became bold and now rides my old e-bike, Esther (named after Esther the Wonderpig). Hesitantly, slightly shakily, yet resolutely to the beach. There’s no better place to wrap up the year.

Religious Jews have the custom Tashlikh. On the first New Year’s Day, shortly before sunset, they go to a place where there’s a body of water, shake out their clothes and empty all the crumbs in their pockets into the water. In doing so, they symbolically drown their sins. Maybe I’ve subconsciously adopted this custom. For, ever since I’ve lived in Tel Aviv, I’m magically attracted to the sea during Rosh Hashanah. Ok, well in general, I love the luxury of having beach sand and waves at my doorstep. 

Snapshot of Tel Aviv 2017

rosh-hashana-tel-aviv-2017

Yesterday, shortly before sunset, I was provided with a snapshot of Tel Aviv 2017. A couple of tanned children in the waves, a Muslim mother, fully clothed, wading into the water after her boys. A sporty, wiry grandfather (Ben-Gurion style, founding generation) playing with his flaxen-haired baby grandchild. A young Israeli practicing a Yogi handstand, a group of Russian men meeting for a beer. On the way back along Nordau, a French immigrant almost charmingly knocks me over with his bike. At an  Espresso-Kiosk two women are still sipping their hafuch coffee. The streets are becoming empty. I only see the occasional car. From open windows wafts the smell of chicken soup. 

Babylon in my garden

rosh-hashana-tel-aviv-2017

We have to hurry up, as nothing is cooked yet and in two hours, 12 hungry guests will be standing on our doormat. We celebrate as a patchwork family. My children, Gloria’s daughter Lee and her son Joel who arrives with a charming couple in tow. A handsome Sikh Indian with a turban and endlessly long eyelashes and his young French wife. As well as a few other friends. It’s multicultural, just the way I love it. We speak all languages, Babylon in my garden. Only my mother is missing, she’s celebrating with her siblings in Paris. 

Food crumbs and Indian caste system

rosh-hashana-tel-aviv-2017

After improvising a prayer and dipping Swiss apple pieces (which Gloria’s son brought from the Alps) in bee and pear honey, we wish each other a sweet, healthy, fulfilling year. Jewish holidays revolve around the stomach. Honey symbolizes a sweet new year. Joya lies under the long table, waiting for leftovers to fall. After the last piece of cake has been polished off, we lounge on the couches in the living room. Gloria falls asleep while I converse animatedly with her son and his Indian friend. He’s lived with his wife in Jerusalem for a year and is writing his doctoral thesis on the relevance and significance of the caste system in today’s India. Now that’s what I call an interesting conversation on Rosh Hashana. Happy 5778!

translation: Catherine Bradshaw

 

 

 

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TEL AVIV NOTES Insider Reiseblog für Tel Aviv
Naomi's Insights TLV entdecken

Rosh Hashana ohne Fischkopf, mit Birnenhonig und Schweizer Äpfeln

rosh-hashana-tel-aviv-2017

Schon wieder Feiertag. Gerade habe ich mich daran gewöhnt, dass der Alltag in mein Leben zurückkehrt, da haben die Kids erneut vier Tage schulfrei und Tel Aviv kleidet sich in weiss. Es ist Rosh HaShana aka jüdisches Neujahr. Ich stehe ja nicht auf Feiertage, aber die besinnliche Stimmung, die sich gerade über die Stadt legt, mag ich.

Sünden im Wasser versenken

rosh-hashana-tel-aviv-2017

Die letzte Stunde im alten Jahr habe ich mit meiner Seelenfreundin Gloria am Strand verbracht, barfuss im seichten Meerwasser. In der Bucht des Mezizim-Strandes, der meinem Zuhause geographisch am nächsten liegt. Bis jetzt musste ich Gloria immer auf dem Gepäckträger meines E-Bikes durch die Stadt kutschieren. Zum Jahreswechsel ist sie mutig geworden und fährt mein altes E-Bike, das Esther (nach Esther the Wonderpig) heisst. Zögerlich, teils wackelig, aber zielstrebig zum Strand. Es gibt keinen besseren Ort, das Jahr ausklingen zu lassen.

Religiöse Juden haben diesen Brauch, Tachschlich. Am ersten Neujahrstag begeben sie sich kurz vor Sonnenuntergang an ein Gewässer, schütteln ihre Kleider aus und werfen alle Krümel, die sich in ihren Taschen befinden, ins Wasser. Damit versenken sie symbolisch ihre Sünden. Vielleicht habe ich diesen Brauch unterbewusst übernommen. Denn seit ich in Tel Aviv lebe, zieht mich das Meer an Rosh HaShana magisch an. Ok, auch sonst, liebe ich den Luxus von Sand und Wellen vor meiner Haustüre.

Momentaufnahme Tel Aviv 2017

rosh-hashana-tel-aviv-2017

Gestern kurz vor Sonnenuntergang bot sich mir eine Momentaufnahme von Tel Aviv 2017. Ein paar gebräunte Kinder in den Wellen, ein muslimische Mutter watet im vollen Gewand ihren Jungs im Wasser hinterher. Ein sportlich-drahtiger Grossvater (Ben Gurion Style, Gründergeneration) spielt mit seinem strohblonden Baby-Enkel. Ein junger Israeli übt sich im Yogi Handstand, eine Gruppe russischer Männer treffen sich auf ein Bier. Auf dem Rückweg über die Nordau fährt mich ein französischer Einwanderer charmant fast mit seinem Bike um. Am Espresso-Kiosk nippen noch zwei Frauen an ihrem Kaffee Hafuch. Die Strassen leeren sich. Autos sehe ich nur noch vereinzelt. Aus offenen Fenster weht der Geruch von Hühnersuppe.

Babylon in meinem Garten

rosh-hashana-tel-aviv-2017

Wir müssen Gas geben, weil noch nichts gekocht ist und in zwei Stunden 12 hungrige Gäste auf der Matte stehen. Wir feiern als Patchwork Familie. Meine Kinder, Glorias Tochter Lee und ihr Sohn Joel, der ein entzückendes Freundespaar im Schlepptau hat. Einen hübschen Sikh-Inder mit Turban und ellenlangen Wimpern und seine junge französische Frau. Ausserdem noch ein paar andere Freunde. Es ist multikulturell, so wie ich es liebe. Wir sprechen alle Sprachen, Babylon in meinem Garten. Nur meine Mama fehlt, sie feiert mit ihren Geschwistern in Paris.

Essenskrümel und indisches Kastensystem

rosh-hashana-tel-aviv-2017

Nachdem wir ein Gebet improvisieren und Schweizer Apfelstücke (die Glorias Sohn aus den Alpen mitgebracht hat) in Bienen- und Birnenhonig tunken, wünschen wir uns ein süsses, gesundes, erfülltes Jahr. Jüdische Feiertage gehen über den Magen. Der Honig symbolisiert ein süsses neues Jahr. Joya liegt unter dem langen Tisch und wartet, dass Essensreste runterfallen. Nachdem auch das letzte Stück Kuchen verputzt wurde, fläzen wir uns auf die Couchen im Wohnzimmer. Gloria schläft ein, während ich mich mit ihrem Sohn und seinem indischen Freund angeregt unterhalte. Dieser lebt mit seiner Frau für ein Jahr in Jerusalem und schreibt seine Doktorarbeit über die Relevanz und Bedeutung des Kastensystems im heutigen Indien. Das nenne ich mal eine interessante Unterhaltung an Rosh HaShana. Happy 5778!

 

 

 

 

0 Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.