TEL AVIV NOTES  – Insider Travel blog for Tel Aviv
discover TLV Naomi’s Insights

Rooftop party, déjà vu and mediocre Thai cuisine

Dancing on the roofs of Tel Aviv

tel-aviv-skyline

When I used to come to Israel as a teenager during summer holidays, Tel Aviv looked totally different. It was untouched. A dusty city with stands selling hot corn on the cob, where my friends and I (happily barefoot) spent our nights out on the town. Back then, the Penguin Club was the trendiest joint in town, a smoky, dark punk club with music by the Clash and the Sex Pistols. The best parties however weren’t in clubs, they were on the flat rooftops of the Bauhaus-style buildings. A record player, an amplifier, beer bottles, cushions and mattresses. Dancing the nights away under starry skies till dawn.

Rooftop party with ashram vibes and deep house

roofparty-tel-aviv

pic: telavivparty.com

Last weekend, I was at a rooftop party and had a déjà vu moment. It was like traveling back to Tel Aviv in the eighties. I climbed the stairs to the top floor, towards the music. Candles, a DJ and many Israelis who had probably met each other on a trip to India. Ashram vibes, giant clouds of weed smoke and deep house on the Rooftop. In some sense, not much has changed. The beats are different, the hippie outfits the same. Music from a Mac, instead of vinyl.

Thai food to stay away from

nithan-thai-tel-aviv

Last Friday, I had lunch with my family at Nithan Thai. I generally prefer to give recommendations, however today I have to advise against. The restaurant has a branch in Berlin and there’s quite a hype about it. Well, it was absolutely not my thing. The interior is tasteless and ostentatious, pop art combined with Asian wooden benches. I love eclectic features, but this was just wrong. There was actually foie gras on the menu. Hello? Is that still okay in 2017? We all found the food abysmal, the service poor and the prices way too steep. Thumbs down, spare yourself the displeasure. Rather go to Thai Housethe Tel Aviv classic with the best curry dishes in town.

Paper paradise at Kikar Masaryk

yooletta-tel-aviv

On one of my bike rides, I discovered the Yooletta. I guess I’m a late bloomer, since that stationery paradise at Kikar Masaryk has been around for quite a while. I could lie down in these types of shops. A truly wonderful stationer in the heart of Tel Aviv. It’s in my heart now too.

A perfect place to spend the last hours of Shabbat is the Veranda Sunset LoungeIf you manage to grab a bar stool at the balustrade facing the sea, there’s no better place for sunset-watching. The Mykonos-style bar closes during winter and opens again in March. When I came to Tel Aviv and still had plenty of time, I used to go to the beach almost every evening to watch the sunset. Alas, I can’t do that so often these days. But sunset in Tel Aviv is always my first choice when I want to relax.

translation: Catherine Bradshaw

 

 

 

 

 

 

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TEL AVIV NOTES  Insider Reiseblog für Tel Aviv
Naomi's Insights TLV entdecken

Roofparty, Deja Vu und mediokre Thai Küche

Tanzen auf den Dächern von Tel Aviv

tel-aviv-skyline

Als ich als Teenager in den Sommerferien nach Israel kam, sah Tel Aviv ganz anders aus. Es war unberührt. Eine staubige Stadt mit heissen Maiskolbenständen, in der ich nachts (gerne barfuss) mit meinen Freunden um die Häuser zog. Damals war der Pinguin Club der trendigste Laden, eine verrauchte dunkle Punkdisco mit Musik von Clash und den Sex Pistols. Die besten Parties fanden aber nicht in Clubs, sondern auf den flachen Dächern der Bauhäuser statt. Ein Plattenspieler, Verstärker, Bierflaschen, Kissen und Matratzen. Die Nächte unter dem Sternenhimmel vertanzen bis zum Morgengrauen.

Roofparty mit Ashramvibes und Deep House

roofparty-tel-aviv

pic: telavivparty.com

Dieses Wochenende war ich auch auf einer Roofparty und hatte ein Deja Vu. Es war wie eine Reise in die achtziger Jahre von Tel Aviv. Ich kletterte die Treppen  hinauf in den letzten Stock, der Musik entgegen. Kerzen, ein DJ und viele Israelis, die sich wohl auf einem Indientrip kennen gelernt haben. Ashramvibes, fette Gras-Rauchwolken und Deep House auf dem Rooftop. Irgendwie hat sich nicht viel verändert. Die Beats sind anders, die Hippie Outfits die gleichen. Anstatt Vinyl, Musik vom Mac.

Thai Essen zum abgewöhnen

nithan-thai-tel-aviv

Diesen Freitag war ich mit meiner Familie im Nithan Thai lunchen. Ich schreibe ja lieber Empfehlungen, aber heute muss ich euch davon abraten. Das Restaurant hat einen Ableger in Berlin und wird ziemlich gehypt. Also mein Ding war das gar nicht. Das Interieur ist geschmacklos-protzig, Popart Kunst vor asiatischen Holzbänken. Ich liebe eklektische Einrichtungen,  aber diese war einfach daneben. Auf der Speisekarte steht tatsächlich Gänseleber. Hallo? Geht das noch im Jahre 2017? Wir alle fanden das Essen grottenschlecht, die Bedienung lahm und den Preis überteuert. Daumen nach unten, könnt ihr euch sparen. Geht lieber ins Thai House, der Klassiker in Tel Aviv mit den besten Currygerichten in town.

Papier Paradies am Kikar Masaryk

yooletta-tel-aviv

Bei einer meiner Bikefahrten habe ich das Yooletta entdeckt. Wahrscheinlich bin ich ein Spätzünder, denn das Papierparadies am Kikar Masaryk gibt es schon länger. Ich könnte mich in so Läden reinlegen. Eine wirklich wunderschöne Papeterie im Herzen von Tel Aviv. Da geht auch mein Herz auf.

Ein perfekter Platz, um den Shabbat auslaufen zu lassen ist die Veranda Sunset Lounge. Wenn du einen Barhocker an der Ballustrade zum Meer ergatterst, gibt es keinen besseren Platz zum sunset watching. Die Bar im Mykonos Stil schliesst über den Winter und öffnet wieder im März. Als ich nach Tel Aviv kam und noch viel Zeit hatte, bin ich fast jeden Abend an den Strand, um zu schauen, wie die Sonne untergeht. Hach, das klappt heute nicht mehr so oft. Aber Sonnenuntergang in Tel Aviv ist immer meine erste Wahl, wenn ich die Seele baumeln lasse.

 

 

 

 

 

 

0 Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.