TEL AVIV NOTES  – Insider Travel blog for Tel Aviv
discover TLV Vegan in TLV

My favorite plant-based spots in Tel Aviv 2017

Bana, the new plant temple


tel-aviv-reisen-vegan-bana-restaurant

Tel Aviv has a new plant-based food temple: Bana. Chefs Hanoch Schechter and Dan Arvatz hold the culinary reins. The menu changes every day. You can eat divine avocado toasts here (almost as a good as at  Butcher’s Daughter in LA). But only almost. I tried the plant-based Caprese version and a nice cream for dessert. Which means ice cream without milk. Both delicious. Bana’s hip, so I would suggest you make a reservation.

Bana, 36, Nachmani Street, Tel Aviv

Pear feast at Meshek Barzilay

tel-aviv-reisen-vegan-meshek-barzilay

pic: FB Meshek Barzilay

The 100% organic restaurant in Neve Zedek is always worth a visit. Meshek Barzilay is all about homemade goods: cheese made from nuts instead of milk, amazing desserts like pear pie and the delicious, gluten-free Ethiopian teff bread. I like sitting at the bar and peeking into the kitchen. The inner courtyard is typically Neve Zedek: a small idyll, away from street noise. For those who like meat and cheese-free lasagna or vegetarian burgers, this is the right place. The menu also offers two Indian dishes – Thali and Massala Dosa, which taste super delicious. I usually order the buckwheat with steamed vegetables and raw tehina. Yummy.

Meshek Barzilay, 1, Achad Haam Street, Tel Aviv

Best cheese-free pizza at Green Cat

tel-aviv-vegan-reisen-green-cat-pizza

I have a weak spot for pizza and ever since I started eating plant-based food, I’ve denied myself the pleasure and the calories. But hidden in the hipster Florentin district is a vegan pizza paradise. By now, the small pizzeria is well known far beyond the borders of Florentin. For anyone who feels like biting into a crispy, cheese-free slice, the Green Cat is a must. Even for conventional pizza lovers. You won’t notice any difference. The base is crispy, the cashew-cheese a perfect substitute and the charming vibe in the small restaurant rounds it all off. Be sure to try it out.

Green Cat, 7, Levontin Street, Tel Aviv

Tremendous plant-based burger at Rainbow

tel-aviv-vegan-reisen-rainbow

A year ago, Rainbow opened its doors on central Rabin Square. You sit outside on bar stools and collect your food at the counter. Ok, no clean eating, but super fast-food. The hamburger is unbeatable. The fries too. There’s also vegan shawarma, kebabs and, as mentioned, the phenomenal Rainbow burger. The perfect place when hunger cravings attack.

Rainbow, Ivn Gvirol Street 88, Tel Aviv

Bier and Caesar’s Salad at Alegria

tel-aviv-vegan-reisen-alegria

The 100% vegan Alegria is just around the corner from my place on northern Ivn Gvirol Street. The red-checkered tablecloths gleam from afar. I like coming here to eat a quick salad or to buy myself a mock-egg salad. Tastes like the original, just without cholesterol. The small restaurant only has a few dishes, but each one is really tasty. I also like to simply drink coffee or work here.

tel-aviv-vegan-alegria-reisen

Alegria, 165, Ivn Gvirol Street, Tel Aviv

translation by Catherine Bradshaw

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TEL AVIV NOTES  Insider Reiseblog für Tel Aviv
TLV entdecken Vegan in TLV

Plant based in Tel Aviv – Meine liebsten Spots 2017

Wer sich nicht nur vegan sondern vor allem plant based (Abgrenzung zu vegan) ernähren will, ist in Tel Aviv genau richtig.

Der neue Pflanzentempel Bana

Plant based Restaurant Bana in Tel Aviv

Tel Aviv hat einen neuen pflanzenbasierten Esstempel: das Bana.  Die Chefs Hanoch Schechter und Dan Arvatz halten das kulinarische Zepter fest in der Hand. Das Menu wechselt täglich. Du kannst hier göttlichen Avocadotoast essen (fast so gut wie bei Butcher’s Daughter in LA). Aber nur fast. Ich habe die pflanzliche Caprese Version probiert und ein Nice Cream als Dessert. Sprich Eiscreme ohne Milch. Beides köstlich. Das Bana ist angesagt, deswegen rate ich dir einen Tisch zu reservieren.

Bana, 36 Nachmani Street, Tel Aviv

Birnenschmaus im Meshek Barzilay

Tolles plant based Restaurant piemeshek Barzilay

pic: FB Meshek Barzilay

Das 100% organische plant based Restaurant in Neve Zedek ist immer einen Besuch wert. Der Meshek Barzilay setzt auf Eigenproduktion: Käse aus Nüssen statt Milch, geniale Desserts wie die Birnen Pie und das köstliche glutenfreie äthiopische Teff-Brot. Ich sitze gerne an der Bar und lunse in die Küche. Der Innenhof ist typisch Neve Zedek: eine kleine Idylle, weg vom Strassenlärm. Wer fleisch- und käselose Lasagne oder pflanzliche Burger mag, der ist hier richtig. Die Karte bietet auch zwei indische Speisen an – Thali und Massala Dosa, die super gut schmecken. Ich bestelle meist den Buchweizen mit gedünsteten Gemüse und raw tehina. Yummy.

Meshek Barzilay, 1, Achad Haam, Tel Aviv

Beste Ohne-Käse-Pizza im Green Cat

Green Cat Pizza ohne Käse - plant based

Pizza ist mein Schwachpunkt und seit ich plant based esse, verkneife ich mir den Genuss und die Kalorien. Im Hipster Viertel Florentin verbirgt sich jedoch ein veganes Pizza Paradies. Die kleine Pizzeria ist längst über die Grenzen von Florentin hinaus bekannt. Wer Lust hat in eine knusprige käsefreie Slice zu beissen, für den ist das Green Cat ein must. Auch für konventionelle Pizza Liebhaber. Ihr werdet keinen Unterschied merken. Der Teig ist knusprig, der Cashewkäse perfekter Ersatz und der charmante Vibe in dem kleinen plant based Lokal rundet das Schlemmern ab. Unbedingt probieren.

Green Cat, 7, Levontin Street, Tel Aviv

Fette plant based Burger im Rainbow

Leckere plant based Burger in Tel Aviv

Am zentralen Rabin-Platz hat vor einem Jahr das Rainbow seine Türen geöffnet. Du sitzt draussen auf Barhockern und holst dir dein Essen an der Theke. Ok, kein clean eating, aber super fastfood. Der Hamburger ist unschlagbar. Die Pommes auch. Hier gibt es auch veganes Shwarma, Kebab und eben den phänomenalen Rainbowburger. Perfekter Ort für Heisshunger Attacken.

Rainbow, Ivn Gvirol 88, Tel Aviv

Bier und Caesar’s Salad im Alegria

Alegria, die plant based Bar in Tel Aviv

Das 100% vegane Alegria liegt gleich bei mir um die Ecke auf der nördlichen Ivn Gvirol. Von weiten leuchten die rotkarierten Tischdecken. Ich komme gerne hier her, um einen schnellen Salat zu essen oder mir einen Mock-Eiersalat zu kaufen. Schmeckt wie das Original, bloss ohne Cholesterin. Das kleine plant based Lokal hat wenige Gerichte, dafür schmeckt wirklich jedes. Ich mag es auch einfach zum Kaffee trinken oder arbeiten.

tel-aviv-vegan-alegria-reisen

Alegria, 165, Ivn Gvirol, Tel Aviv

0 Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.