About Naomi Bubis & TEL AVIV NOTES

I’VE MADE TEL AVIV’S MOTTO MY PRINCIPLE:

LIVE THE MOMENT!

about me: Naomi Bubis tel aviv

My blog probably magically attracted you, because you’re either just as much in love with Tel Aviv as I am, or because you’re burning to find out more about Tel Aviv. In that case, you’re right on track here! You can find my newest blog posts on my homepage as well as the almost 100 articles I’ve published so far on telavivnotes. I offer you insider tips on beaches, markets, winebars, Tel Aviv security and so much more. I also report on current events in Tel Aviv, such as the Samsung Marathon. Those who are interested in Tel Aviv’s magnificent architecture and history, and have a penchant for all things nostalgic, will enjoy articles like “Rothschild Boulevard as historybook” or “The last Jekkes of Cafe Mersand”.

Do you wonder how I ended up in Tel Aviv in the first place? I’ll tell you, there were two previous stops: Frankfurt and Paris.

About me – FRANKFURT

I’m Naomi Bubis and I was born in Frankfurt am Main. I lived there till I graduated from high school, cultivating my love for gummi bears. For me, Frankfurt was: a childhood amongst squirrels and chestnuts in the park, and some boisterous teenage years as a punk with a dyed green mohawk. Right after graduation I moved to Paris. Why Paris? Because a large part of my family lives there, French is my mother tongue (German, my father’s language), and because I wanted to live abroad. Hence, Paris was the obvious choice.  

About me – PARIS

I studied political science, although I would have preferred to go to art school, but didn’t enroll in time. On the side, I worked for German newspapers and magazines. After three intense years in Paris, during which I spent my days addicted to movies and museums, while dancing the nights away, I decided to go back to Frankfurt. I completed my political science degree at the university. I still always like to visit Frankfurt and Paris. Most recently so in April 2017, as I wrote about in my blog article “Trip to my Hometown Frankfurt”.

About me – TEL AVIV

Naomi in Tel Aviv

It was always clear to me that I would live in Tel Aviv someday. Before I was ready to take that step, I was a journalist for local newspapers in Frankfurt, worked with the Hessian Broadcasting Company and discovered TV as a medium for me. Together with my co-writer Sharon Mehler, I made television documentaries. Our documentary “Hope Bombed to Pieces”, about the Palestinian suicide bomber who, in 1996, killed 13 Israelis by blowing himself up at the Tel Aviv Dizengoff Center, had a lasting impact on me. During the research for the film it once again became clear to me that Tel Aviv is my city and the place I’d like to live. Before long, I packed my records and books and moved.

For many years, I worked as a foreign correspondent for the features section of the Neue Zürcher Zeitung. Then I felt like something new and studied integrative medicine for two years and since then have switched to a plant-based diet. Tel Aviv is a vegan’s paradise. I enjoy writing about it, for instance in my article“Comfort Food: Addicted to Buddah Bowls” or in my blogpost “In a Tel Aviv State of Mind”.

Today, I live happily in Tel Aviv with my three wonderful children Ben, Lou and Ron, and my female dog Joya. You can get glimpses of my private life with my kids on my blog from time to time. I wrote, for example, about a nerv-wracking night at a Tel Aviv Hosptital as well as about Ron’s big day at his Barmitzwa.

Did you enjoy what you read here?

Great, then welcome to the club of Tel Aviv lovers! I have two fantastic gifts for you:

Tel Aviv Checklist – ensuring your stay in Tel Aviv will be perfect and an e-booklet with the best areas for an Airbnb Apartment. You can pick up these two Goodies here. You are also welcome to connect with me on Facebook and follow me on Instagram, where I capture my most beautiful Tel Aviv impressions.

Tel Aviv E-Book & AirBNB Tips

Get my two PDF’s with insider tips for your next trip to Tel Aviv as a free give away: Get it here

  
 

Any questions or suggestions? Write to me: blog@telavivnotes.com

Über Naomi Bubis & Telavivnotes

ICH HABE MIR DAS MOTTO TEL AVIV’S ZUM PRINZIP GEMACHT:

LEBE DEN MOMENT!

Naomi Bubis von TELAVIVNOTES aus Tel Aviv

Wahrscheinlich hat dich mein Blog magisch angezogen, weil du entweder genauso verliebt in Tel Aviv bist wie ich oder weil du darauf brennst, Tel Aviv kennenzulernen. Dann bist du hier goldrichtig! Du findest auf der Startseite meine neuesten Blogartikel so wie die fast 100 Artikel, die ich bisher auf telavivnotes veröffentlicht habe. Ich gebe dir Insidertipps zu Stränden, Märkten, Weinbars und vielem mehr. Auch berichte ich über aktuelle Veranstaltungen in Tel Aviv wie z.B. den Samsung Marathon. Wer sich für die großartige Architektur und Geschichte von Tel Aviv interessiert und es nostalgisch mag, wird bei Artikeln wie “Der Rothschild Boulevard als Geschichtsbuch” oder “Die letzten Jekkes des Cafe Mersand” seine Freude haben.

Fragst du dich, wie es mich überhaupt nach Tel Aviv verschlagen hat? Ich erzähle es dir, da gab es zuvor zwei weitere Stationen: Frankfurt und Paris.

About me – FRANKFURT

Ich bin Naomi Bubis und in Frankfurt am Main geboren. Dort habe ich bis zum Abitur gelebt und meine Liebe für Gummibärchen domestiziert. Frankfurt war für mich: eine Kindheit zwischen Eichhörnchen und Kastanien im Park und eine heftige Teenagerzeit als Punk mit grünen Irokesenschnitt. Gleich nach dem Abi zog ich nach Paris. Warum Paris? Weil dort ein Grossteil meiner Familie wohnt, französisch meine Muttersprache (Deutsch meine Vatersprache) ist und ich im Ausland leben wollte. Da lag Paris auf der Hand.

About me – PARIS

Ich studierte politische Wissenschaften, obwohl ich lieber auf die Kunstakademie wollte, aber zu spät zur Einschreibung kam. Ich arbeitete nebenbei für deutsche Zeitungen und Magazine. Nach drei intensiven Jahren in Paris, in denen ich ausstellungs- und kinosüchtig meine Tage verbrachte und die Nächte vertanzte, entschloss ich mich zurück nach Frankfurt zu ziehen. An der Uni beendete ich mein Politikstudium. Ich besuche Frankfurt und Paris immer wieder gerne. Zuletzt im April 2017, ich habe in meinem Blogartikel “Trip in meine Hometown Frankfurt” darüber berichtet.

About me – TEL AVIV

about me tel aviv sea

Es war mir schon immer klar, dass ich irgendwann in Tel Aviv leben werde. Bis ich den Schritt wagte, schrieb ich als Journalistin in Frankfurt für Lokalblätter, arbeitete beim Hessischen Rundfunk und entdeckte das TV-Medium für mich. Zusammen mit meiner Co-Autorin Sharon Mehler drehte ich Fernsehdokumentationen. Unsere Doku „Die zerbombte Hoffnung“ über den palästinensischen Selbstmordattentäter, der sich 1996 in Tel Aviv am Dizengoffzentrum in die Luft sprengte und 13 Israelis mit in den Tod riss, hat mich nachhaltig geprägt. Bei der Filmrecherchearbeiten wurde mir wieder klar, dass Tel Aviv meine Stadt ist und ich hier leben möchte. Kurz darauf packte ich meine Platten und Bücher und zog um.

Ich arbeitete jahrelang als Auslandskorrespondentin für das Feuilleton der Neuen Zürcher Zeitung. Dann kam die Lust auf Neues und ich studierte zwei Jahre integrative Medizin, seither ernähre ich mich pflanzenbasiert. Tel Aviv ist ein veganes Paradies. Gerne schreibe ich darüber wie in meinem Artikel “Comfort Food: Süchtig nach Buddah Bowls” oder in der Blogpost “In a Tel Aviv State of Mind”.

Heute lebe ich glücklich mit meinen drei wundervollen Kindern Ben, Lou und Ron und Hündin Joya in Tel Aviv. Auf meinem Blog gibt es öfters private Einblicke in das Leben mit meinen Kids in Tel Aviv. So habe ich über eine aufreibende Nacht im Tel Aviver Krankenhaus ebenso wie über Rons großen Tag an seiner Barmitzwa geschrieben.

Dir gefällt was du hier liest?

Cool, dann willkommen im Club der Tel Aviv Lover! Ich habe zwei wunderbare Geschenke für dich:

Eine Tel Aviv Checkliste – so wird dein Tel Aviv Besuch perfekt – und ein E-Booklet mit den besten Gegenden für ein Airbnb Apartment in Tel Aviv. Hier kannst du dir die beiden Goodies abholen. Verknüpfe dich auch gerne auf Facebook mit mir und folge mir auf Instagram, dort halte ich meine schönsten Tel Aviv Eindrücke fest.

Hast du noch Fragen oder Anregungen? Schreib mir:

Dein Vorname

Deine E-Mail-Adresse

Deine Nachricht