TEL AVIV NOTES  – Insider Travel blog for Tel Aviv
discover TLV Naomi’s Insights

How to make everyone take you for a local in Tel Aviv

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

If you’re asked for directions, it’s a good sign that you don’t stick out as a tourist. It’s easy to pass for a local in multicultural Tel Aviv. Here are a few insider tips.

Laid-back outfit with a floppy hat

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

You’ll immediately stick out in business attire or a suit. Tel Avivians wear casual and light clothing. Naturally, this is due to our hot climate zone. When the thermometer drops below 20° C, Israelis start complaining about how freezing cold it is. You can wear anything in Tel Aviv without attracting attention. The street look is a blend of hipster and hippie. Young Tel Avivians wear sleeveless shirts and loose clothing. They have tattoos and men grow hipster beards.

Rent an e-bike

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

There are now more e-bikes in Tel Aviv than regular bikes. The bikes are fast so go for a spin in a quiet side street first. Tel Avivians ride their bikes as if there was no tomorrow, I wouldn’t encourage copying their style. If you’re careful, the e-bike is great to get around the city quickly. Traffic signs are more like recommendations and are completely disregarded by bikers. So, watch out.

Wear colorful flip-flops

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

The flip-flop is the universal footwear in Tel Aviv. It’s unisex. Be it men or women, they all like to shuffle along the asphalt in those Brazilian rubber sandals. Maybe that’s why there’s a nail bar on every corner, as feet should look well-groomed when flaunted in Havaianas. 

Drink your Café Hafuch at a kiosk

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

Drink your espresso at a Kiosk instead of at a café. Order in Hebrew. An Israeli cappuccino is called Hafuch coffee. Just say Hafuch, and if you want it with soy milk: Hafuch al Soya. If you’d like to come across as a friendly local, add ‘please’ (‘bevakasha’).

For sunset, sit at the beach

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

Tel Avivians like to meet at the beach in the late afternoon. Straight from work for a beer, an iced coffee or beach volleyball. We like to sit on the wide steps and look at the sea. Come sit in between and watch how Yogis practice handstands or children build castles in the sand.

Buy a pair of dark sunglasses

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

The light in Tel Aviv is really stark. I simply cannot leave the house without sunglasses. The daylight is like a glaring neon tube. Merciless. We only use suntan lotion abroad to give our bodies that holiday fragrance. Most Tel Avivians get through summer without suntan lotion. Elderly ladies like to wear colorful hats with wide brims.

Get invited to Shabbat dinner

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

For this to happen, you have to briefly come out as a tourist, the invitation will quickly follow. Your best bet is to sit at a kiosk on Rothschild or Ben Gurion on Friday at noon and start chatting with the people next to you. It doesn’t take long to strike up a conversation with Israelis. Tel Avivians are hospitable and readily open the doors to their living rooms and kitchens. Strolling the streets alone (without a dog) on a Friday night around dinner time promptly exposes you as a tourist.   

Order a taxi via Gettaxi app

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

Hailing your taxi by hand is out. Tel Avivians order taxis via Gettaxi app. There are many reasons for this. For one thing, you know who your driver is and you can rate him with a star system. Hence, they strive to be amiable and won’t pull a fast one on you. Should you forget something in the taxi, you can contact the driver directly. It’s the only way I ride.

Put on your sneakers: run, run, run

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

Early in the morning and in the evening hours, the whole of Tel Aviv wears sneakers. The city has become a Mecca for jogging over the last couple of years. In Hayarkon Park, along the boardwalk or the boulevards. You’ll see them everywhere. Put on some sneakers, plug in earphone music and jog with the locals through the city.

translation: Catherine Bradshaw

 

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TEL AVIV NOTES  Insider Reiseblog für Tel Aviv
Naomi's Insights TLV entdecken

Wie dich alle für einen Local in Tel Aviv halten

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

Wen du nach dem Weg gefragt wirst, ist das ein gutes Zeichen, dass du nicht als Tourist auf deiner Tel Aviv Reise rausstichst. Im multikulturellen Tel Aviv ist es einfach als Local durchzukommen. Hier ein paar Insider-Tipps.

Laidback Outfit mit Schlapphut

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

Im Kostüm oder Anzug fällst du sofort auf. Tel Aviver tragen ihre Klamotten lässig und luftig. Das hängt natürlich an unserer heissen Klimazone. Wenn das Thermometer unter 20 Grad fällt, beklage dich, wie bitterkalt es ist. Du kannst in Tel Aviv alles tragen, ohne aufzufallen. Der Streetlook ist eine Mischung aus hipster und hippie. Die jungen Tel Aviver tragen ärmellose Shirts und luftige Kleider. Sie sind tätowiert und Männer lassen sich Hipsterbärte wachsen.

Leihe dir ein E-Bike

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

Mittlerweile gibt es mehr E-Bikes als Fahrräder in Tel Aviv. Die Bikes sind schnell, also dreh erstmal eine Runde in einer ruhigen Seitenstrasse. Tel Aviver fahren als gebe es kein Morgen, ich ermutige dich nicht ihren Stil nachzuahmen. Wenn du vorsichtig bist, ist das E-Bike genial, um zügig durch die Stadt zu kommen. Verkehrsschilder gelten eher als Empfehlung und werden von Bikern komplett übergangen. Also, pass auf.

Trage bunte Flipflops

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

Der universelle Schuh in Tel Aviv ist der Flipflop. Er ist unisex. Ob Mann oder Frau, sie alle schlurfen gerne mit den brasilianischen Gummisandalen übers Asphalt. Vielleicht gibt es deswegen an jeder Ecke ein Nagelstudio, denn Füsse sollten schon gepflegt ausschauen, wenn sie in Havaianas zur Schau getragen werden.

Trinke deinen Kaffee Hafuch am Kiosk

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

Trink deinen Espresso nicht im Café, sondern am Kiosk. Bestell auf hebräisch. Ein israelischer Cappuccino heisst Kaffee Hafuch. Sag einfach nur Hafuch und wenn du ihn mit Soja magst: Hafuch al Soja. Wenn du als freundlicher Local durchkommen magst, hänge noch ein bitte (bevakasha) dran.

Setze dich zum Sonnenuntergang an den Strand

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

Tel Aviver treffen sich gerne am späten Nachmittag am Strand. Direkt von der Arbeit auf ein Bier, Eiskaffee oder zum Strand-Volleyball. Wir sitzen gerne auf den breiten Treppen und schauen aufs Meer. Setze dich dazwischen und schau, wie Yogis Handstand üben oder Kinder im Sand Burgen bauen.

Kauf dir eine dunkle Sonnenbrille

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

Das Licht in Tel Aviv ist wirklich krass. Ich kann gar nicht ohne Sonnenbrille vor die Tür. Das Tageslicht ist wie eine grelle Neonröhre. Gnadenlos. Sonnencreme benutzen wir nur im Ausland, um Urlaubsduft am Körper zu haben. Die meisten Tel Aviver bewegen sich ohne Sonnenschutzmittel durch den Sommer. Ältere Damen  tragen gerne bunte Hüte mit breiter Krempe.

Lass dich zum Shabbat Dinner einladen

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

Dafür musst du dich kurz als Tourist outen, die Einladung wird schnell folgen. Du setzt dich am besten Freitag Mittag an einen Kiosk auf der Rothschild oder Ben Gurion und fängst an mit deinen Nachbarn zu quatschen. Ins Gespräch mit Israelis kommst du schnell. Tel Aviver sind gastfreundlich und öffnen gerne ihre Wohnzimmer und Küchen. Wenn du Freitagabends zur Essenszeit alleine (ohne Hund) durch die Strassen streifst, entlarvst du dich schnell als Tourist.

Bestell dir dein Taxi über die App Gettaxi

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

Dein Taxi per Handwink anzuhalten ist out. Tel Aviver bestellen Taxen per Gettaxi App. Das hat viele Gründe. Zum einem, weisst du wer dein Fahrer ist und kannst ihn mit einem Sternesystem bewerten. Daher bemühen sie sich nett zu sein und werden dich nicht übers Ohr hauen. Hast du etwas im Taxi vergessen, kannst du den Fahrer direkt anrufen. Ich fahre nur so.

Zieh deine Turnschuhe an: run, run, run

local-tel-aviv-telavivnotes

In den frühen Morgen- und Abendstunden trägt ganz Tel Aviv Turnschuhe. In den letzten Jahren hat sich die City zum Laufmekka gemausert. Im Hayarkonpark, an der Strandpromenade oder auf den Alleen. Du siehts sie überall. Zieh dir Turnschuhe an, stöpsle Musik ins Ohr und jogge gemeinsam mit den Locals durch die Stadt.

PS: Ich habe tolle Gegenden für Tel Aviv Airbnb Unterkünfte recherchiert. So lebst du direkt bei den Locals.

0 Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.