TEL AVIV NOTES  – Insider Travel blog for Tel Aviv
discover TLV Naomi’s Insights

Sesame tea in a Japanese spa and dancing at Café Mersand

tel-aviv-travelblog

Saturday is the perfect day to unwind. Last week Gloria visited me. Together, we booked an appointment for a massage at the Japanese Spa in Jaffa. Opting for the e-bikes, we leisurely cycled across the still-sleepy city on Shabbat morning. On the Ibn Gvirol bikeway to Rabin Square, along Sderot Chen to Habima Square to Rothschild Boulevard. At the espresso kiosk, a few Tel Avivians sat before their milk coffee while early risers strolled along the boulevard with their four-legged friends. Rothschild, catwalk for dogs. 

Further south we turn into Nahalat Binyamin to get to the clock tower in the ancient city via Jaffa Road. The streets in Jaffa are bustling, tourists thrust their way through the alleys, the presence of police is evident. Patrol cars and policemen in uniforms by the roadside.  We cycle uphill on Yefet Street, in an idyllic side street is the Yoko Kithara spa.  A pink bougainvillea is blooming in front of the villa, the door is open and we walk our bikes into the courtyard. It smells of essential oils.

Japanese spa in a Jaffa villa

shabbat-tel-aviv-travelblog

We kick off our flip flops and slip into white bath slippers. A friendly young man seats us onto a couch where we fill in the mandatory health form, our feet bathing in lukewarm water. We drink water from Japanese porcelain tumblers and eat two cookies. Which will subsequently prove fatal for me. Via a wooden stairway, we get to the treatment room on the first floor. Lying side by side under cool sheets, I have to pull myself together in order not to giggle. With childhood friends, there’s always something to laugh about. The mere sight of both of us on the massage tables is enough to make me chuckle goofily. 

Coughing fit while sipping sesame tea

shabbat-tel-aviv-spa-travelblog

For a whole 75 minutes, we get thoroughly kneaded. Lying on my stomach, my head hanging out of the opening in the table, the effect of firmly stimulated acupressure points becomes apparent to me. My nose starts running, then dripping profusely. Embarrassed, I ask for tissues. I then feel some undigested cookie crumbs irritating my throat, bringing on a major coughing fit. I’ll never eat cookies before a massage again. After that, I also start to enjoy the massage, while Gloria, in Nirvana, sighs next to me.

While sitting on the couch again with a sesame tee, Gloria has a laughing fit. Contagious. We sit there like two chuckling schoolgirls, tea sputtering out our mouths. Once again embarrassing, given the silence of the Japanese spa, which I warmly recommend to you. The massage was professional and the ambience in the historical house is absolutely wonderful.

Lima beans at Shaffa Bar

shabbat-tel-aviv-travelblog

Driven by hunger, we end up in Shaffa Bar at Jaffa’s flea market. I’ve never been here on a Saturday before and, even though the shops are closed, it’s busy as hell. We dutifully stand in line after a feisty girl in her twenties admonishes us to wait on the bench for a free table. Israelis like to go out. At any time of day or night. The people in this city live outdoors. In cafés and restaurants, in parks and at beaches. We have my favorite meal, Lima Lima, that is, lima beans with crispy bread to dip in. 

On the way back, we cycle along the Tel Aviv beach promenade. That was a mistake. The midday sun is unforgiving, even at the end of September. We push our bikes past the crowds until we find refuge on the bikeway which extends from Jaffa up to the North of Tel Aviv. At Gordon, we head towards the city. Against the stream of beach lovers who, equipped with towel, dog or surfboard, are looking for sand and waves.

Colorful flags on Ben Gurion Boulevard

shabbat-tel-aviv-travelblog

Along Ben Gurion, past the packed coffee kiosk at the corner of Dizengoff, we reach Rabin square. At its lower end, Ben Gurion is currently decorated with colorful flags – a feast for the eyes, in my opinion. Finally back home, we drop onto the couch. A massage, e-biking and the blazing sun can really be exhausting.

Wild Thoughts at Café Mersand

tel-aviv-mersand-travelblog

In the late afternoon, we hop back onto our bikes to meet our childhood friend Joe and his wife Ella at Café Mersand. The Mersand is one of my favorite cafés, as it has that ingenious blend of old and new. It looks exactly as it did 50 years ago. DJ’s play on weekends, as is the case today, with a Russian friend of Joe’s. We swing amongst linoleum tables to the beats of DJ Khaled’s Wild Thoughts. I already heard that song non-stop when I was in Venice Beach. Outside, sprightly retirees are sitting alongside young couples with children and some bearded hipsters sipping beer. Needless to say, we make a detour to the beach. As with every evening at Frishman, yogis are practicing their handstands while the orange red sun sinks into the sea.

tel-aviv-travelblog

 

translation: Catherine Bradshaw

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. I have checked your blog and i’ve found some duplicate content,
    that’s why you don’t rank high in google, but there is a tool that can help you to create
    100% unique content, search for: Boorfe’s tips unlimited content

  2. Hello I really enjoyed reading this website

  3. I have checked your website and i have found some duplicate content, that’s why you don’t rank high in google’s search results,
    but there is a tool that can help you to create 100% unique content, search for: boorfe’s
    tips unlimited content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TEL AVIV NOTES  Insider Reiseblog für Tel Aviv
Naomi's Insights TLV entdecken

Sesamtee im japanischen Spa und tanzen im Café Mersand

tel-aviv-travelblog

Samstags ist der ideale Tag, um die Seele baumeln zu lassen. Letzte Woche hatte ich Besuch von Gloria. Wir haben zusammen eine Massage im japanischen Spa von Jaffa gebucht. Wir entschlossen uns für die E-Bikes und radelten gemütlich durch die am Shabbatmorgen noch schlaftrunkene Stadt. Auf dem Fahrradweg der Ibn Gvirol zum Rabinplatz, über die Sderot Chen, den Habimaplatz zum Rothschild Boulevard. Am Espresso-Kiosk sassen einige Tel Aviver vor ihrem Milchkaffee, während Frühaufsteher mit ihren Vierbeinern über die Allee flanierten. Rothschild, der Catwalk für Hunde.

Wir biegen im Süden in die Nahalat Binyamin, um über die Jaffa Road zum Uhrturm der historischen Altstadt zu gelangen. In Jaffa sind die Strassen belebt, Touristen zwängen sich durch die Gassen, die Polizeipräsenz fällt mir ins Auge. Streifenwagen und uniformierte Polizisten am Wegrand. Wir radeln die Yefet Street bergauf, in einer idyllischen Seitengasse liegt das Yoko Kithara Spa. Eine pinkfarbene Bougainville blüht vor der Villa, die Tür ist offen und wir schieben unsere Bikes in den Innenhof. Es duftet nach ätherischen Ölen.

Japanischer Spa in Jaffa Villa

shabbat-tel-aviv-travelblog

Wir streifen unsere Flip Flops ab, schlüpfen in weisse Badeschlappen. Ein sympathischer junger Mann platziert uns auf einer Couch, die Füsse im lauwarmen Wasserbad füllen wir das obligatorische Gesundheitsformular aus. Wir trinken Wasser aus japanischen Porzellanbechern und essen zwei Kekse. Die werden mir später zum Verhängnis. Über eine Holztreppe gelangen wir in das Treatment Zimmer in der ersten Etage. Nebeneinander unter luftigen Laken liegend, muss ich mich zusammen nehmen, nicht zu kichern. Unter Sandkasten Freundinnen gibt es immer etwas zu lachen. Schon alleine der Anblick von uns beiden auf den Massagetischen bringt mich albern zum schmunzeln.

Hustenanfall beim Sesam Tee schlürfen

shabbat-tel-aviv-spa-travelblog

75 Minuten lang werden wir durchgeknetet. Auf dem Bauch liegend, den Kopf in der Öffnung des Tisches hängend, offenbart sich mir die Wirkung von straff sitzenden Akupressur Punkten. Meine Nase fängt an zu laufen, dann stark zu tropfen. Mir ist das peinlich, ich bitte um Taschentücher. Dann merke ich, wie unverdaute Kekskrümel meinen Hals irritieren und bekomme einen fetten Hustenanfall. Kekse esse ich nie mehr vor einer Massage. Danach fange auch ich an, die Massage zu geniessen, während Gloria neben mir im Nirvana seufzt.

Als wir wieder auf der Couch vor einem Sesamtee sitzen, bekommt Gloria einen Lachkrampf. Ansteckend. Wir sitzen da wie zwei gluckernde Schulmädchen, während der Tee aus unserem Mund prustet. Wieder peinlich, in der Stille des japanischen Spa, den ich euch wärmstens empfehle. Die Massage war professionell und das Ambiente in dem historischen Haus ist wirklich traumhaft.

Limabohnen in der Shaffa Bar

shabbat-tel-aviv-travelblog

Der Hunger treibt uns in die Shaffa Bar auf dem Flohmarkt von Jaffa. Samstags war ich noch nie hier, die Geschäfte sind zwar geschlossen, dennoch ist die Hölle los. Wir stehen brav an, nachdem eine resolute Zwanzigjährige uns zurecht weist, auf der Bank auf einen freien Tisch zu warten. Israelis gehen gerne aus. Zu jeder Tages- und Nachtzeit. Die Menschen dieser Stadt leben draussen. In Cafés und Restaurants, Parks und an Stränden. Wir essen mein Lieblingsgericht das Lima Lima, sprich Limabohnen mit knusprigen Brot zum tunken.

Den Rückweg radeln wir über die Strandpromenade. Das war ein Fehler. Die Sonne ist auch Ende September um die Mittagszeit unerbärmlich. Wir schieben unsere Räder zu Fuss an den Menschenmengen vorbei, bis wir uns auf den Radweg retten, der sich von Jaffa bis in den Norden Tel Aviv’s zieht. An der Gordon biegen wir stadtwärts ab. Antizyklisch zum Strom der Badefreudigen, die mit Handtuch, Hund oder Surfbrett Sand und Wellen aufsuchen.

Bunte Flaggen auf der Ben Gurion Allee

shabbat-tel-aviv-travelblog

Über die Ben Gurion, vorbei am überfüllten Kaffee-Kiosk Ecke Dizengoff kommen wir zum Rabinplatz. Das untere Ende der Ben Gurion ist derzeit mit bunten Flaggen geschmückt, ein Augenschmaus wie ich finde. Endlich zuhause, fallen wir auf die Couch. Massage, e-biken und die pralle Sonne können echt müde machen.

Wild Thoughts im Café Mersand

tel-aviv-mersand-travelblog

Spät nachmittags schwingen wir uns nochmal auf die Räder und treffen im Café Mersand unseren Jugendfreund Joe mit seiner Frau Ella. Das Mersand ist eines meiner Lieblingscafés, weil es diese geniale Mischung aus alt und neu hat. Es sieht original aus wie vor 50 Jahren. Am Wochenende legen DJ´s auf, so wie heute ein russischer Freund von Joe. Wir schwingen zwischen den Linoleum Tischen zu den Beats von Wild Thoughts von DJ Khaled. Den habe ich schon in Venice Beach rauf und runter gehört. Draussen sitzen flotte Rentner neben jungen Pärchen mit Kindern und ein paar bärtige Hipster, die am Bier nippen.  Klar, dass wir noch einen Abstecher zum Strand machen. Am Frishman üben wie jeden Abend Yogis den Handstand, während die Sonne orangerot ins Meer plumpst.

tel-aviv-travelblog

 

 

 

 

 

0 Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.