TEL AVIV NOTES – Insider Travel blog for Tel Aviv
discover TLV

Eats Cafeteria in Beit Hanna

beit-hanna-tel-aviv

pic: FB Beit Hanna

Anyone who’s flown to Tel Aviv a lot or who lives here can certainly remember the terrorist attack on the Apropo Café. In 1997, a Palestinian suicide bomber blew himself up at the entrance to the coffee shop, killing three young women. I remember it clearly as 1997 is the year I emigrated to Israel. The white Bauhaus-style building had various different operators for a while after that. Then it remained empty for many years.

Tel Aviv’s laid-back version of Soho House

beit-hanna-tel-aviv

Recently, Beit Hanna opened in the beautiful historical building on the corner of Ben Gurion Boulevard. The community center is being proclaimed as Tel Aviv’s version of Soho House. Soho House with a twist however, the casual version. Anyone can become a member, without recommendations and elitist screenings.

The focus of Beit Hanna is community, networking and a healthy lifestyle. Cultural events are open to non-member neighbors. The program is lavish and offers lectures as well as meditation, movies and music jams. An asset to the residential neighborhood and to Tel Aviv in general. Beit Hanna has rapidly made a name for itself as a wellness spot for lovers of yoga and Pilates. There are also open-air courses on the spacious wooden deck in the front yard.

Freshly baked cookies in Eats Cafeteria

eats-cafeteria-tel-aviv

Since nothing goes down without good foodthe highlight at Beit Hanna is the Eats CafeteriaYou can sit here between palm trees at a wooden table in the garden with your laptop and write or read the newspaper with a strong coffee and freshly baked pastries. Eats is also great for a quick lunch or to meet with friends on Shabbat.

eats-cafeteria-tel-aviv

Behind the concept of the eatery are Michal Epstein, known to the Israeli audience for her appearance in the cooking contest Masterchef, and entrepreneur Jonathan Koevary, ex-partner at Loveat coffee chain.  Epstein, who created the menu, said it’s inspired by Ottolenghi’s delicatessens. Yotam Ottolenghi is a British-Israeli chef and restaurant owner. He became known for his cookbooks and deli-restaurants. Eats is simply furnished. You get coffee, a sandwich or quiche directly at the bar counter. I find the relaxed atmosphere perfect as a retreat from the hustle and bustle of central Tel Aviv. 

Beit Hanna & Eats Cafeteria, Ben Gurion Boulevard 75, Tel Aviv

translation: Catherine Bradshaw

 

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TEL AVIV NOTES  Insider Reiseblog für Tel Aviv
TLV entdecken

Die Eats Cafeteria im Beit Hanna

beit-hanna-tel-aviv

pic: FB Beit Hanna

Wer schon lange nach Tel Aviv fliegt oder hier lebt, kann sich bestimmt an das Attentat am Apropo Café erinnern. Im Jahre 1997 sprengte sich ein palästinensischer Selbstmordattentäter am Eingang des Coffeeshops in die Luft und riss drei junge Frauen mit in den Tod. Ich kann mich genau daran erinnern, denn 1997 bin ich nach Israel ausgewandert. Das weisse Bauhaus Gebäude hat seither einige Betreiber gewechselt. Dann stand es jahrelang leer.

Tel Aviver laid back Version des Soho House

beit-hanna-tel-aviv

Vor kurzem ist das Beit Hanna in das wunderschöne historische Eckhaus am Ben Gurion Boulevard eingezogen. Der Community Center wird als Tel Aviver Variante des Soho House angepriesen. Aber eben ein Sohohouse mit twist, die lässige Variante. Denn jeder kann Mitglied werden, ohne Empfehlung und elitäres Aussieben.

Der Schwerpunkt des Beit Hanna liegt auf Gemeinschaft, networking und einem gesunden lifestyle. Die kulturellen Veranstaltungen sind offen für Nachbarn, die kein Mitglied sind. Das Programm ist üppig und bietet neben Vorträgen auch Meditationen, Filme und Musik Jams an. Eine Bereicherung für das Wohnviertel und Tel Aviv im ganzen. Das Beit Hanna hat sich schnell einen Namen als Wellness Spot für Yoga- und Pilatesliebhaber gemacht. Auf dem geräumigen Holzdeck im Vorgarten gibt es auch Open Air Kurse.

Ofenfrische Cookies in der Eats Cafeteria

eats-cafeteria-tel-aviv

Da in Tel Aviv nichts ohne gutes Essen geht, ist das Highlight im Beit Hanna die Eats Cafeteria. Hier kannst du dich mit dem Laptop zwischen Palmen an einen Holztisch im Garten setzen und bei starken Kaffee und ofenfrischen Gebäck schreiben oder die Zeitung lesen. Auch für einen schnellen Lunch bietet sich das Eats an oder zum Freunde treffen am Shabbat.

eats-cafeteria-tel-aviv

Hinter dem Konzept der Eatery steckt Michal Epstein, die dem israelischen Publikum von ihrem Auftritt beim Kochwettbewerb Masterchef bekannt ist und der Entrepreneur Jonathan Koevary, Ex-Teilhaber der Loveat Kaffeekette. Epstein, die das Menu kreiert hat, sagt, die Speisekarte sei von Ottolenghi’s Delikatessen inspiriert. Yoram Ottolenghi ist ein britisch-israelischer Chef und Restaurantbesitzer. Bekannt wurde er durch seine Kochbücher und Deli-Läden.  Das Eats ist schlicht eingerichtet. Du holst dir Kaffee, Sandwich oder Quiche direkt an der Theke ab. Ich finde die entspannte Atmosphäre perfekt als Rückzugspunkt von der Hektik des zentralen Tel Aviv.

Beit Hanna & Eats Cafeteria, Ben Gurion Boulevard 75, Tel Aviv

 

0 Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.