TEL AVIV NOTES – Insider Travel blog for Tel Aviv
discover TLV

Bialik Street – a hidden pearl in Tel Aviv

bialikstreet

pic: http://hg2.com

Do you know Bialik Street in Tel Aviv? I think it’s a veritable pearl and definitely worth visiting. The small street is the perfect starting point for architecture and history lovers, providing insights into the development of the city. The magnificent buildings are from various eras and styles: from nineteen-twenties eclecticism to renovated Bauhaus-style buildings. A particularly splendid example is the white 1931 Bauhaus-style building, house number 6.

Between Allenby and the old City Hall Square

Bialik is bordered to the west by the lively Allenby Street, not far from the Shuk HaCarmel. On this corner is Café Bialik, a Tel Avivian institution, where live bands often play at night. It’s a café for locals, who come here to drink their beer outside on sultry summer nights. In the 1930s, the same building was home to Café Ratzki, favorite haunt for artists and poets. In 2002, a Palestinian suicide bomber blew himself up in front of Café Bialik.

café bialik bialikstreet

Number 10 is one of my favorite buildings and has been tastefully renovated. Number 21, bordering on Bialik Square, is not to be sneezed at either. A stately white Bauhaus-style building with angular balconies and a solid wooden entrance door. On the first floor, you can visit the Bauhaus Museum and admire an original door-handle by Walter Gropius.

House of Bialik, the poet

bialik house bialikstreet

Named after the Israeli poet Nahman Bialik (1873-1934), the museum sits enthroned at the eastern end of the street. Bialik lived in the room with the wooden oriel window on the first floor of house number 22. The marvelous bourgeois villa is an architectural mixture of European and Oriental style. At any rate, it’s worth visiting the small museum. 

Paintings in the Rubin Museum

Right next door is the Rubin Museum. Here you can visit the permanent exhibition on the painter Reuven Rubin regarded as painter-chronicler of Tel Aviv. Rubin bequeathed his family home, along with the collection of his paintings, to the city of Tel Aviv. It was opened as the Rubin Museum in 1983. 

reuben museum bialikstreet

pic: Sanjay Shukla

Bialik Square is the heart of the street and rounds it off with a plaza and a fountain. An impressive sight is Tel Aviv’s first city hall. The historical building is now a museum dedicated to the history of Tel Aviv. Despite its beauty, the square is not overcrowded with tourists, making it worthwhile to stop by, particularly evenings. If you’re lucky, you can hear the musicians at the adjacent Felicja Blumental Music Center rehearsing.

blumental music center bialistreet

pic: e-architect.co.uk

translation: Catherine Bradshaw

 

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TEL AVIV NOTES   urban  inspiring  vegan
TLV entdecken

Die Bialikstreet – eine versteckte Perle in Tel Aviv

bialikstreet

pic: http://hg2.com

Kennt ihr die Bialikstreet in Tel Aviv? Ich finde, sie ist eine wahre Perle und unbedingt einen Besuch wert. Die kleine Strasse ist der perfekte Einstieg für Architektur- und Geschichtsliebhaber und bietet Einblicke in die Stadtentwicklung. Die Prachthäuser sind aus unterschiedlichen Epochen und Stilrichtungen: vom Eklektizismus der zwanziger Jahre bis zu renovierten Bauhäusern. Ein besonderes Prachtexemplar ist das weisse Bauhaus aus dem Jahr 1931 mit der Hausnummer 6.

Zwischen Allenby und alten Rathausplatz

Die Bialik grenzt westlich an die belebte Allenbystreet unweit vom Shuk HaCarmel. An diesem Zipfel liegt das Café Bialik, eine Tel Aviver Institution, in der abends oft Livebands spielen. Es ist ein Café der Locals, die hier in den schwülen Sommernächten draussen ihr Bier trinken. In den 30’er Jahren lag im selben Gebäude das Café Ratzki, beliebter Treffpunkt von Künstlern und Poeten. Im Jahre 2002 sprengte sich ein palästinensischer Selbstmordattentäter vor dem Café Bialik in die Luft.

café bialik bialikstreet

Die Nummer 10 ist eine meiner liebsten Häuser und wurde geschmackvoll renoviert. Auch die Nummer 21, die an den Bialikplatz grenzt ist nicht zu verachten. Ein imposantes weisses Bauhaus mit eckigen Balkonen und Eingangstür aus massiven Holz. Im Erdgeschoss könnt ihr das Bauhaus Museum besuchen und einen Original Türgriff von Walter Gropius bestaunen.

Haus des Poeten Bialik

bialik house bialikstreet

Benannt nach dem israelischen Poeten Nahum Bialik (1873-1934) thront das Museum am östlichen Ende der Strasse. Bialik wohnte im hölzernen Erker im ersten Stock von Hausnummer 22. Die wunderschöne Bürgervilla ist eine architektonische Mischung aus europäischen und orientalischen Baustil. Das kleine Museum ist auf jeden Fall einen Besuch wert.

Gemälde im Rubin Museum

Gleich daneben liegt das Rubin Museum. Hier könnt ihr die Dauerausstellung über den Maler Reuben Rubin besuchen, der als malender Chronist von Tel Aviv gilt. Rubin vermachte sein Familienhaus samt Gemäldesammlung der Stadt Tel Aviv. 1983 wurde es als Rubin Museum eröffnet.

reuben museum bialikstreet

pic: Sanjay Shukla

Der Bialikplatz ist das Herzstück und begrenzt die Strasse mit einer Piazza und Springbrunnen. Imposant wirkt das erste Rathaus der Stadt Tel Aviv. In dem historischen Gebäude ist heute ein Museum zur Geschichte Tel Avivs. Trotz seiner Schönheit ist der Platz nicht von Touristen überlaufen, insbesondere abends lohnt es sich hier einzuhalten. Wenn ihr Glück habt könnt ihr den Musikern des angrenzenden Felicja Blumental Musikzentrums beim Üben zuhören.

blumental music center bialistreet

pic: e-architect.co.uk

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Am meißten liebe ich es am Brunnen in der Bialik zu relaxen. Auf den Stein kann man sich super drauflegen und er gibt noch bis in die Nacht die Sonnenwärme ab ^^

  2. Ja, die Straße ist wunderschön “oasig”! Und à propos Architektur und Bauhaus: ich kann allen nur wärmstens die Investition für diese Tour ans Herz legen:
    http://telavivbauhauswalk.com
    Ich habe sie letztes Jahr mit meinem Bruder gemacht, Yigal ist ein wunderbar warmherziger, humorvoller und angenehmer Mensch mit einem unglaublichen Wissen, und es ist wunderbar, es in einem so kleinen Rahmen vermittelt zu bekommen.

  3. Genau, oasig ist sie die Strasse. Danke für deine Empfehlung, werde ich auf jeden Fall mal probieren:) lg Naomi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *